STSS ‘Night of Champions’ Awards Banquet January 4; Tickets & Rooms Available

LEHIGH VALLEY, PA – The beautiful Bear Creek Mountain Resort will serve as the backdrop for the 2019 Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco ‘Night of Champions’ on Saturday, January 4, 2020.

Short Track Super Series top performers will be honored during the festive evening.

The star of the show will be ‘Super Matt’ Sheppard of Savannah, N.Y., who completed an incredible season that included championships the STSS Halmar International North Region ($12,500), STSS Velocita-USA South Region presented by Design for Vision and Sunglass Central ($10,000) and the home-track American Racer Cup presented by Sunoco ($11,000).

For his trio of titles, Sunoco Race Fuels distributor Bruce Insinger of Insinger Performance in Dushore, Pa., will present Sheppard with an additional $25,000 bonus bringing his earnings to $58,500.

In the Modified North Region, Sheppard was trailed in the top-12 by Andy Bachetti, Mike Gular, Stewart Friesen, Mat Williamson, Anthony Perrego, Craig Hanson, Danny Creeden, Billy Decker, Mike Mahaney, Billy Van Pelt and J.R. Hurlburt.

The South Region Modified saw Sheppard best Ryan Watt, David Van Horn, Jeff Strunk, Jordan Watson, Gular, Bachetti, Craig Von Dohren, Billy Pauch Jr., Brandon Grosso, Rick Laubach and Danny Bouc.

All top-12 STSS Modified competitors must have driver or car owner present to collect point fund cash and contingencies.

Sportsman champions will again be lauded at the ‘Night of Champions’ event.

Tim Hartman Jr. of Niskayuna, N.Y., joined the STSS Crate 602 Sportsman North Region this season and won four of the five events completed. Bobby Flood, Blaine Klinger, Jim Housworth, Travis Green, Daniel Morgiewicz, Jimmy Johnson, Tommy Collins, Dustin Jordan and Kenny Hammond completed the top-10.

Youthful talent Cole Stangle of Readington, N.J., topped the STSS South Region six-race series. Jim Housworth, Jimmy Johnson, Dylan Swinehart, Joe Toth, Sammy Martz Jr., Trent Van Vorst, Ryan Macartney, Scott Hitchens and Samantha Muller were the top-10 finishers.

Again this season, attendance at the ‘Night of Champions’ is optional for drivers in the Crate 602 Sportsman regions placing second through 10th.

Cocktail hour will begin at 6 p.m. A delicious buffet dinner will follow.  

Tickets are on sale now for $50 each. To purchase tickets, complete the following form:

The ticket purchase deadline is Dec. 20, 2019.

Rooms are available utilizing the code ‘BDM104’ with the link provided: 

Rooms must be reserved by December 4 to be part of the discounted block.

Bear Creek Mountain Resort is located at 101 Doe Mountain Lane Lehigh Valley, PA 18062. On the web:

To learn more about the 2020 Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit, e-mail, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Halmar International, Velocita-USA, Design for Vision/Sunglass Central, Rob Sherlock Roofing, ATL Racing Fuel Cells, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, EIBACH Springs, Escape RV, Fast Axle, Fox Racing Shocks, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, HyperCo, Kirkey Racing Fabrication, Land Hoe Maintenance, K&N, MJK Home Maintenance, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, QA1, Racing Optics, Superior Remodeling, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO, Velocita, WELD Racing & Wilwood.