Mother Nature Wins ‘Sunshine Swing’ Opener, Double Program Planned for Friday

Written by Chris Moore

LAKE CITY, FL – Mother Nature won night number one of the ‘Sunshine Swing’ at All-Tech Raceway.

The Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco will have to wait one more day to drop the green flag on racing at the half-mile speedway.

Forty-two STSS Modifieds and 31 Crate 602 Sportsman signed in at the pit gate to participate in the first-ever STSS race in the state of Florida.

With storms in the area all day, the skies opened up just as the fourth group went out for hot laps to begin the night. Cars never returned to the track once the rain began.

STSS and All-Tech Raceway officials made the decision to make Friday a double show. 

Cars will hit the speedway at approximately 5:30 p.m., running the full scheduled show from this evening.

Following the conclusion of the makeup event, there will be a brief intermission followed by the full second show originally scheduled for Friday night.

The Modifieds will race for $5,000 in the first show, followed by a $7,500 winner’s share in the second event. The Crate 602 Sportsman will run for $1,250 in both feature events tomorrow night.  

Hot laps hit the track at 5:30 p.m. Racing gets underway immediately following. The events will be carried live on Dirt Track Digest TV.

Complete race weeklong race information can be found on the series website:

All-Tech Raceway is located at 1024 SW Howell Road Lake City, FL 32024. To learn more about the speedway, visit

To learn more about the 2020 Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit, e-mail, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Halmar International, Velocita-USA, Design for Vision/Sunglass Central, Evergreen Fuels Inc., ATL Racing Fuel Cells, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, EIBACH Springs, Fast Axle, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, HyperCo, Kirkey Racing Fabrication, Land Hoe Maintenance, K&N, MJK Home Maintenance, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, QA1, Racing Optics, Superior Remodeling, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO, Velocita, WELD Racing & Wilwood.

Thursday Night ‘Sunshine Swing’ STSS Modified Heat Lineups

Heat 1: 1. Ryan Krachun, 2. Matt Sheppard, 3. Andy Bachetti, 4. Todd Neiheiser, 5. Stewart Friesen, 6. Mike Gular, 7. Robert Dutton, 8. Anthony Perrego, 9. Clay Tatman, 10. Tyler Siri, 11. Matt Stangle

Heat 2: 1. Danny Hieber, 2. Kyle Weiss, 3. Billy Dunn, 4. Darren Smith, 5. Cory Riffe, 6. Rich Regalski, 7. Scott Hitchens, 8. Demetrios Drellos, 9. Rusty Smith, 10. Russell Morseman III, 11. Billy Van Pelt

Heat 3: 1. Peter Britten, 2. Danny Johnson, 3. Brandon Grosso, 4. Kyle Coffey, 5. Larry Wight, 6. Mat Williamson, 7. Billy Pauch Jr., 8. Erick Rudolph, 9. Rick Laubach, 10. Nick Mady

Heat 4: 1. Alex Yankowski, 2. Dillon Groover, 3. Darwin Greene, 4. Jeremy Smith, 5. Marshall Hurd, 6. J.R. Hurlburt, 7. Scott Van Gorder, 8. Jordan Watson, 9. Billy Decker, 10. David Schilling

Thursday Night ‘Sunshine Swing’ STSS Crate 602 Sportsman Heat Lineups

Heat 1: 1. Jeff Brown, 2. Jim Harbison, 3. A-Jay Potrzebowski Sr., 4. Daniel Morgiewicz, 5. Brendan Gibbons, 6. Kevin Sockriter, 7. Jim Gallagher Jr., 8. Brian Sadler, 9. Matt Meade, 10. Michael Ballestero, 11. Mike Smith

Heat 2: 1. Garrett Given Sr., 2. Blaine Klinger, 3. Grant Hilfiger, 4. Payton Talbot, 5. Scott Hitchens, 6. Michael Mondak, 7. Shawn McPhee, 8. Michael White, 9. Carl Bittenbender, 10. Derek Webb

Heat 3: 1. Antonio Ballestero, 2. Adam White, 3. Tim Hartman Jr., 4. Todd Buckwold, 5. Jim Introne Jr., 6. Bobby Flood, 7. Kevin Chaffee, 8. Stephen Lary, 9. Craig Whitmoyer, 10. Robert Delormier