‘Battle of the Bullring’ Set for Eighth Running Tuesday, May 11 at Accord Speedway

Written by Chris Moore

ACCORD, NY – After a one-year hiatus, the ‘Battle of the Bullring’ returns in full swing on Tuesday night (May 11).

The Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco returns to Accord Speedway after missing the 2020 edition at the Ulster County facility due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Not only will the May 11 race serve as the eighth running of the event: it also kicks off the Hurlock Auto & Speed North Region for the STSS Modifieds.

The Land Hoe Maintenance-sponsored 50-lapper will pay a minimum of $5,440 to the winner with a minimum $25,610 total purse in place for the Modifieds with numerous certificates and bonuses up for grabs as well.

In 2019, Sheffield, Mass., driver Andy Bachetti held off a hard-charging Mike Gular of Boyertown, Pa., who had come from the consolation, to grab his fifth career STSS triumph. Rich Ricci Jr., Matt Sheppard and J.R. Hurlburt rounded out the top-five.

Jerry Higbie picked up his one and only STSS victory in the 2018 edition of the ‘Battle of the Bullring.’ Anthony Perrego – who was trying for his second consecutive win in the event – came home second, with Jeremy Smith, Danny Creeden and Jimmy Wells in tow.

Only Middletown, N.Y.’s Anthony Perrego has won the event multiple times, annexing the 2017 and 2014 editions. In 2017, Perrego up-ended Jimmy Wells and Billy Decker to win his second ‘Battle of the Bullring.’

His 2014 triumph was his first career STSS triumph, coming one year after winning the Sportsman edition of the ‘Battle of the Bullring’ in 2013. The 2014 edition was also the first STSS-sanctioned event at Accord Speedway.

The STSS all-time winningest driver won his lone ‘Battle of the Bullring’ in 2016. Sprakers, N.Y.’s Stewart Friesen topped a thrilling three-car duel over Danny Johnson and Jimmy Horton.

The 2013 ‘Battle of the Bullring’ runner-up did one better in 2015, as Jackie Brown Jr. – like Jerry Higbie – got his lone career STSS victory at the quarter-mile oval. Brown topped Tommy Meier and Danny Tyler to win the third edition of the ‘Battle of the Bullring.’

The inaugural event was a non-sanctioned race, as the STSS had not been conceived yet. Danny Creeden was the first ‘Battle of the Bullring’ winner.

Joining the STSS Modifieds will be the Precision Hydraulic & Oil Crate 602 Sportsman for their first race of the 2021 series schedule. A $5,455 purse is in place with $1,500 reserved to the winner.

Four Cylinders will also be on the card for the STSS North Region opener.

For the May 11 race all gates open at 4 p.m. with hot laps starting at 6:15 p.m. and racing at 7 p.m.

General admission prices are $25 for Adults, $23 for Seniors (ages 65 & up) and $3 for Kids ages 11 and under. Reserved seating prices are an extra $2. Indoor Reserved Seating is $35 (call 845-626-1142 to secure an indoor seat).

The ‘Battle of the Bullring 8’ general information sheet has been posted on the STSS website: https://shorttracksuperseries.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/BattleoftheBullring8GeneralInfoSheet.pdf

A rain date of Wednesday, May 12 is in place for the event.

Accord Speedway is located at 299 Whitfield Road Accord, NY 12404. The speedway can be reached by phone at 845.626.1142 or 845.626.1494 or on the web at https://accordspeedway.com.

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit www.shorttracksuperseries.com, e-mail bdmotorsportsmedia@gmail.com, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, FloRacing, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Hurlock Auto & Speed, Velocita-USA, Design for Vision/Sunglass Central, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, Penske Racing Shocks, Danny’s Pizza Pizzazz, Algonkin Motel, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, Kirkey Racing Fabrication, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, Belmont’s Garage, Superior Remodeling, Spyder High Performance Filters, Fastline Performance, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO & Wilwood.