Round 2: STSS Modified North Region Takes Over Outlaw Speedway Tuesday Night

Written by Chris Moore

DUNDEE, NY – After an outstanding first round at N.Y.’s Accord Speedway last week, the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco Hurlock Auto & Speed Supply heads to the Finger Lakes Region this Tuesday (May 18).

Tyler Siri’s Outlaw Speedway in Dundee, N.Y., plays host to the ‘Outlaw Showdown’ serving as the second round of the North Region for the sail-panel-laden STSS Modified contingent.

The ‘Outlaw Showdown’ returns for the first time since 2019 after last year’s version was nixed by COVID-19 restrictions.

A $5,000 winner’s share has been posted, with $1,000 for 10th and $400 to take the green plus bonuses, awards and certificates. A minimum purse structure of $25,170 is in place for the 27-car starting field.

Anthony Perrego of Middletown, N.Y., leads the North Region into Outlaw after winning the ‘Battle of the Bullring 8’ at Accord last week, an emotional victory in memory of his father. Perrego bested Mat Williamson, Mike Mahaney, Tyler Dippel (who led most of the event) and Scott Ferrier at the Ulster County facility.

A $12,000 Hurlock Auto & Speed Supply champion’s share awaits STSS Modified competitors at season’s end.

Also, on the card for the May 18 event will be the “open tire” Sportsman racing for $1,500-to-win, while the Street Stocks, Four Cylinders and Hobby Stocks will all race for $750-to-win.

Pit gates open at 4 p.m. with the grandstands opening at 5 p.m. Hot laps start at 6 p.m. and racing at 7 p.m.

General admission prices are $25 for Adults, $22 for Seniors and Kids 12 and under get in FREE. Pit Admission is $40 (no license required).

Outlaw Speedway is located at 82 Main Street in Dundee, N.Y. 14837. The Speedway can be reached by phone at 607.228.7038 or on the web at

A General Information Sheet is available at

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit, e-mail, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, FloRacing, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Hurlock Auto & Speed, Velocita-USA, Design for Vision/Sunglass Central, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, Penske Racing Shocks, Danny’s Pizza Pizzazz, Algonkin Motel, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, Kirkey Racing Fabrication, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, Belmont’s Garage, Superior Remodeling, Spyder High Performance Filters, Fastline Performance, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO, WELD Racing & Wilwood.