STSS Race Day at Georgetown: Mid-Atlantic Championship Storylines, Stars & Sleepers

Written by Chris Moore

GEORGETOWN, DEIt’s Race Day… Championship Style!

Tonight, the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco crowns its Velocita-USA South Region presented by Design for Vision and Sunglass Central Modified Champion.

Georgetown Speedway hosts the STSS for the third time in 2021 in the Mid-Atlantic Championship Weekend.

The 40-lap main event will pay a potential $7,000 based on a driver’s posted Stockley Materials ‘Gambler’s Fee.’ Should the winning driver post the $100 ‘Gambler’s Fee,’ they will receive the full $7,000 payday. If the winning driver elects to post a $50 ‘Gambler’s Fee,’ their winning payoff will be $6,000 and if the winning driver posts no ‘Gambler’s Fee,’ they will take home $5,000.

The event serves as the 10th and final round of the South Region for the STSS Modifieds.


King Ferry, N.Y.’s Mike Mahaney leads the championship chase into Georgetown Speedway by 44 markers over Savannah, N.Y.’s Matt Sheppard and 63 ahead of Middletown, N.Y.’s Anthony Perrego.

Georgetown hosts the STSS for a series leading 17th time in its history, and third time in the calendar year.

Georgetown Speedway will also be crowing track champions, as Boyertown, Pa.’s Ryan Watt maintains a 45-point advantage over Neshanic Station, N.J.’s Matt Stangle.

The Super Late Models join the Saturday evening program, making the season finale at Georgetown a dual-headline event.


Frenchtown, N.J.’s Billy Pauch Jr. has dominated at the Sussex County half-mile since the middle of July. The ‘Kid’s Kid’ has won four consecutive Modified features at Georgetown, including the STSS ‘Blast at the Beach’ back in August.

Anthony Perrego enters the season finale with an outside chance at claiming the South Region title. Perrego’s chances took a big hit at the ‘Speed Showcase 200,’ however, the Empire State driver has a long history at Georgetown Speedway. Perrego will be laying it all on the line to visit Victory Lane.

Matt Sheppard’s history at Georgetown Speedway is very much a mixed bag. After struggling at the progressively banked half-mile, Sheppard has picked up two wins in his last three appearances. Sheppard, like Perrego, will be doing everything in his power to pressure Mike Mahaney for the championship.


Matt Stangle enters Georgetown off a recent surge in performance. Stangle was the runner-up to Pauch Jr. at Georgetown back on October 1 and finished third in the ‘Speed Showcase 200’ two weeks ago at Port Royal. Stangle continues chasing after Ryan Watt for the Georgetown Speedway Modified championship.

Ryan Godown heads to the site of his last STSS triumph, which was nearly four years ago to the date (Oct. 28. 2017).  The Ringoes, N.J., driver currently sits fifth in South Region points, looking to end his Northeast season with a bang before heading to Louisiana for the ‘Cajun Swing.’

Milford, Del.’s Jordan Watson is a two-time STSS winner, both of which came at Georgetown Speedway, including the 2019 ‘Mid-Atlantic Championship.’ Watson looks to shake off his rough 2021 season with his third career STSS triumph.


The Super Late Models will do battle for 40 laps with a potential winner’s share of $7,000. The Late Models have their own J.D. Shuckers ‘Gambler’s Fee’, with the same rules applying as the STSS Modifieds.

The STSS Crate 602 Sportsman are on hand for Round No. 8 of the Belmont’s Garage South Region. Newtown, Pa.’s Joe Toth leads Horseheads, N.Y.’s Ajay Potrzebowski by 54-points heading into the region finale.

The Little Lincolns, Delaware Super Trucks, and Delmarva Chargers round out the program in 12-lap, features-only affairs.


For the October 30 event, pit gates will open at 1 p.m. with grandstands opening at 2 p.m. The pre-race Trick or Treat will take place at 3 p.m.

Hot laps are set to begin at 4:30 p.m. with racing starting at 5:30 p.m.

Grandstand admission is $25 for Adults, $20 for Seniors (ages 65 and up) & Students (ages 13-17), $10 for Kids (ages 9-12) and Children 8 and under are FREE.

Pit admission is $40 (ages 13 and up), $10 for Kids (ages 6-12) and $2 for Children ages 5 and under.


The ‘Mid-Atlantic Championship’ will be streamed LIVE on FloRacing ( as part of the annual subscription.

Georgetown Speedway, originally constructed by Melvin L. Joseph in 1949, is located at the intersection of Route 113 and Speedway Road in Georgetown, Del., just miles from the Delaware beaches and less than a 40-minute drive from Ocean City, Md.

A website is live for the speedway at Like Georgetown Speedway on Facebook, follow @thegtownspdwy on Twitter, e-mail or contact the speedway hotline at 302.563.GTWN (4896).

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit, e-mail, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, FloRacing, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Hurlock Auto & Speed, Velocita-USA, Design for Vision/Sunglass Central, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, Penske Racing Shocks, Danny’s Pizza Pizzazz, Algonkin Motel, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, Kirkey Racing Fabrication, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, Belmont’s Garage, Superior Remodeling, Spyder High Performance Filters, Fastline Performance, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO, WELD Racing & Wilwood.


October 31, 2020 – MATT SHEPPARD – Billy Pauch Jr. – Anthony Perrego – Stewart Friesen – Tyler Dippel

November 2, 2019 – JORDAN WATSON – Mike Gular – Rick Laubach – Brandon Grosso – Jeff Strunk

October 28, 2017 – RYAN GODOWN – Ryan Watt – Jamie Mills – Duane Howard – Anthony Perrego

November 5, 2016 (unsanctioned) – RICK LAUBACH – Danny Johnson – Jimmy Horton – Neal Williams – Richie Pratt Jr.


October 31, 2020 – RICK ECKERT – Max Blair – Kyle Hardy – Michael Maresca – Ross Robinson

November 2, 2019 – ROSS ROBINSON – Amanda Whaley – Trevor Feathers – Danny Snyder – Dale Hollidge

October 28, 2017 – RICKY ELLIOTT – Austin Hubbard ­– Kyle Hardy – Jamie Lathroum ­– Mark Pettyjohn

November 5, 2016 – DAN STONE – Austin Hubbard – Dale Hollidge – D.J. Troutman – Shaun Jones