Stars in the Sunshine: Top Modified Talent Heads to All-Tech Raceway for STSS ‘Sunshine Swing’

Written by Chris Moore

LAKE CITY, FL Seeing stars in the sunshine.

As the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco gears up for the 2022 ‘Sunshine Swing,’ so are the biggest stars of big-block/small-block Modified racing.

The third annual trip to Florida brings the STSS contingent back to Wendell Durrance’s All-Tech Raceway in Lake City, Fla., the site of the inaugural ‘Sunshine Swing’ two years ago.

Confirmations from the best in Modified racing are rolling in for the Feb. 8-12 mini-series.

Both 2021 STSS champions are set to take on All-Tech Raceway, as the Hurlock Auto & Speed South Region champion – Elizabethtown, N.Y.’s Mike Mahaney – and the River Valley Builders North Region champion – Savannah, N.Y.’s Matt Sheppard – have set their sights on the ’22 ‘Sunshine Swing.’

The defending ‘Sunshine Swing’ champion – Ransomville, N.Y.’s Erick Rudolph – will be on hand at All-Tech Raceway. Rudolph is a two-time winner with the STSS in Florida, including a $10,000 triumph in ‘20 at All-Tech Raceway.

Sprakers, N.Y.’s Stewart Friesen, the all-time winningest driver in series history, has registered in the ’22 ‘Sunshine Swing.’ Friesen, a three-time winner in Florida with the STSS, returns to All-Tech Raceway where he was the ’20 ‘Sunshine Swing’ champion.

‘The Doctor’ Danny Johnson heads to All-Tech Raceway behind the controls of the Tim Gibson-fielded No. 27J. The Phelps, N.Y., legend heads a new team into its maiden voyage to the Sunshine State with 598 career victories to his credit in search of No. 600.

Other Empire State contingents making the tow to Florida are Potsdam, N.Y.’s Mike Maresca, Guilderland, N.Y.’s Marc Johnson, Sidney, N.Y.’s Billy Decker, and Phoenix, N.Y.’s Larry Wight.

Frenchtown, N.J.’s Billy Pauch Jr. added four STSS victories to his name since the series last visited All-Tech Raceway. Pauch Jr. returns to Lake City in the Rick Holsten-owned No. 96 as the combo has become an elite duo amongst the series regulars.

Budding star Alex Yankowski will return to the ‘Sunshine Swing’ in search of his first STSS win. The Covington Township, Pa., youngster returns to Florida in search of another big win to add to his resume.

The defending Delaware International Speedway champion, Jordan Watson, is a two-time winner with the STSS, both of which occurred at Georgetown (Del.) Speedway. The Milford, Del., native will look to add All-Tech to his conquests.

Two-time STSS winner – Hellertown, Pa.’s Rick Laubach – heads to All-Tech Raceway looking to kick off his ’22 season with a ‘Sunshine Swing’ victory.

Brisbane, Australia’s Peter Britten will lead the international contingent into All-Tech Raceway. Britten looks to shake off his rough outing in the ’21 ‘Sunshine Swing’ with a strong showing at All-Tech Raceway.

Wurtsboro, N.Y.’s Danny Creeden returns to the series for the ‘Sunshine Swing’ after a part-time schedule last season. Creeden has won STSS events at three different tracks.

From the high banks of N.Y.’s Lebanon Valley Speedway, J.R. Heffner of Valatie, N.Y., rejoins the Short Track Super Series for a week of “sun, fun and speed” at All-Tech.

The five nights of action kicks off on February 8 with an Open Practice for all competitors from 6-9 p.m. Four nights of racing take place from Wednesday through Saturday.

·         Wednesday: STSS Modifieds 30 laps, $4,000 to win & Crate 602 Sportsman 25 laps, $1,500 to win

·         Thursday: STSS Modifieds 35 laps, $5,000 to win & Crate 602 Sportsman 25 laps, $1,500 to win

·         Friday: STSS Modifieds 40 laps, $6,000 to win & Crate 602 Sportsman 30 laps, $2,000 to win

·         Saturday: STSS Modifieds 50 laps, $8,000 to win & Crate 602 Sportsman 30 laps, $2,000 to win

Advance weeklong pit passes and car registrations for both divisions can be purchased through the following link:

A complete ‘Sunshine Swing’ information center has been set up on the series website:

The entire week of racing, along with every STSS race in 2022, will be broadcast LIVE on FloRacing ( 

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit, e-mail, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, FloSports, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Halmar International, River Valley Builders, Hurlock Auto & Speed, Velocita-USA, St. Lawrence Radiology, Design for Vision & Sunglass Central, Belmont’s Garage, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, Prime MAC Tools, F.X. Caprara Car Companies, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, EIBACH, Elite Welder Testing & Training, Flach Performance Products, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, Penske Racing Shocks, Schultz Racing Fuel Cells, Spyder Filters, Superior Remodeling, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO & Wilwood.