On to Orange County: Short Track Super Series ‘Elite’ Heads to the House of Power

Written by Chris Moore

MIDDLETOWN, NY – The Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco was finally able to lift the lid on the Northeast racing season last Sunday at Pa.’s Port Royal Speedway.

Ringoes, N.J.’s Ryan Godown claimed the Spring ‘Speed Showcase,’ and the $5,000-plus payday to open the Hurlock Auto & Speed Supply South Region.

Now, the STSS treks further North into the Empire State for the first round of the River Valley Builders North Region and the second round of the Halmar International ‘Elite’ Series. Godown also claimed the ‘Rebel 50’ at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, S.C., in the first round of the Halmar International ‘Elite’ Series.

Orange County Fair Speedway (OCFS) hosts the historic $25,000-to-win event – which holds a total purse of over $80,000 – in the 50-lap ‘Hard Clay Open’ on Saturday, April 2.

OCFS was the site of the first-ever STSS race in history back in April of 2014. Sheffield, Mass., star Andy Bachetti was victorious in the inaugural event, besting Tim Hindley and Danny Tyler.

Seven years later, the STSS returns to the historic Orange County five-eighths-mile oval for the 11th time in its history.

Bachetti claimed another STSS win at OCFS in the 2017 ‘Hard Clay Open,’ the second of his now six career STSS triumphs.

Sprakers, N.Y.’s Stewart Friesen leads STSS competition at the House of Power, with four wins in the 10 events held at OCFS. His most recent took place in the ‘Hard Clay Finale’ in 2019.

Matt Sheppard had never won at the Legendary House of Power before the ‘19 ‘Hard Clay Open’ when the Savannah, N.Y., native claimed the $11,919 victory. Since then, Sheppard has become a force at OCFS, including his victories in the 2021 ‘Hard Clay Finale’ and the ‘Eastern States 200’ just two days later.

Boyertown, Pa.’s Mike Gular and Waldwick, N.J.’s Tommy Meier are the other names found in the STSS history book as winners at Orange County Fair Speedway.

The STSS returns for its richest event ever at Orange County Fair Speedway on April 2. April 3 is reserved as a rain date for this event.

Complete race information is posted on the STSS website at the following link: https://shorttracksuperseries.com/event-info/

The entire night of racing, along with every STSS race in 2022, will be broadcast LIVE on FloRacing (www.floracing.tv).

Orange County Fair Speedway is located at 239 Wisner Avenue in Middletown, NY 10940. To contact Orange County Fair Speedway, e-mail info@ocfsracing.com or call the speedway office at 845.342.2573. The speedway website is www.orangecountyfairspeedway.net.

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit www.shorttracksuperseries.com, e-mail bdmotorsportsmedia@gmail.com, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, FloSports, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Halmar International, River Valley Builders, Hurlock Auto & Speed, Velocita-USA, St. Lawrence Radiology, Design for Vision & Sunglass Central, Belmont’s Garage, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, Prime MAC Tools, F.X. Caprara Car Companies, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, EIBACH, Elite Welder Testing & Training, Flach Performance Products, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, Penske Racing Shocks, Schultz Racing Fuel Cells, Spyder Filters, Superior Remodeling, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO, Wegner Automotive & Wilwood.


October 22, 2021 – MATT SHEPPARD – Anthony Perrego – Mat Williamson – David Schilling – Larry Wight

October 24, 2019 – STEWART FRIESEN – Anthony Perrego – Andy Bachetti – Matt Sheppard – Billy Decker

April 7, 2019 – MATT SHEPPARD – Stewart Friesen – Anthony Perrego – Brett Hearn – Mike Gular

October 18, 2018 – MIKE GULAR – Mat Williamson – Anthony Perrego – Tyler Dippel – Mike Mahaney

May 8, 2018 – STEWART FRIESEN – Rick Laubach – Jerry Higbie – Brett Hearn – Billy Decker

October 19, 2017 – STEWART FRIESEN – Andy Bachetti – Rick Laubach – Craig Mitchell – Jeremy Smith

April 9, 2017 – ANDY BACHETTI – Stewart Friesen – Brett Hearn – Billy Decker – Tommy Meier

April 2, 2016 – TOMMY MEIER – Danny Johnson – Mike Ricci – Andy Bachetti – L.J. Lombardo

April 11, 2015  STEWART FRIESEN – Jerry Higbie Jr. – Danny Johnson – Tommy Meier – Brett Hearn

April 6, 2014  ANDY BACHETTI – Tim Hindley – Danny Tyler – Danny Johnson – Jeff Heotzler