One Extra Day: Delaware International ‘Diamond State 50’ Postponed to Wednesday, April 27

Written by Chris Moore

DELMAR, DE One extra day.

Fans will have to wait an additional 24 hours for the Hurlock Auto & Speed ‘Diamond State 50’ at Delaware International Speedway. The Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco event has been postponed due to predicted rain moving over Delmarva on Tuesday.

The event will now take place on Wednesday, April 27.

Speedway promoter Mark Cathell and STSS management announced the change on Monday to allow fans and teams the opportunity to alter work schedules and travel plans.

STSS Modifieds race in Round No. 2 of the Hurlock Auto & Speed South Region, a 50-lap event paying $5,000-plus to win, $1,000 for 10th and $500 to take the green flag. STSS Crate 602 Sportsman kick off the Belmont’s Garage South Region in a 25-lap, $1,500-to-win main event.

Delaware Super Trucks and Delmarva Chargers complete the program.

For the April 27 event, pit gates open at 3 p.m. with grandstand gates to follow at 5 p.m. Hot laps are scheduled for a 6:30 p.m. start with racing set to take place at 7:15 p.m.

Grandstand admission is $25 for Adults. $20 for Seniors (ages 65 & up) and Students (ages 13-17). Kids (ages 9-12) get in for $10 and Children ages 5 & under get in FREE.

Pit admission is $40 (ages 13 & up). Kids (ages 6-12) get in for $10 and $2 for Children (ages 5 & under).

The entire night of racing, along with every STSS race in 2022, will be broadcast LIVE on FloRacing (  

Delaware International Speedway is located at 37854 Sussex Hwy in Delmar, Del. 19940 and can be reached by phone at 302.846.3911 (office) or 302.846.3968 (race night). The speedway website is

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit, e-mail, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, FloSports, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Halmar International, River Valley Builders, Hurlock Auto & Speed, Velocita-USA, St. Lawrence Radiology, Design for Vision & Sunglass Central, Belmont’s Garage, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, Prime MAC Tools, F.X. Caprara Car Companies, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, EIBACH, Elite Welder Testing & Training, Flach Performance Products, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, Penske Racing Shocks, Schultz Racing Fuel Cells, Spyder Filters, Superior Remodeling, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO, Wegner Automotive & Wilwood.

Past ‘Diamond State 50’ Winners

2021: Stewart Friesen (STSS Modified)

2020: Stewart Friesen (STSS Modified)

2019: Matt Sheppard (STSS Modified)

2018: Matt Sheppard (STSS Modified)

2017: Ryan Watt (STSS Modified)

2016: Stewart Friesen (STSS Modified)

2015: David Van Horn Jr. (STSS Modified)

2005: Danny Johnson (Modified) & David Hill (Late Model)

2004: Ricky Elliott (Modified) & Kenny Pettyjohn (Late Model)

2003: Weather

2002: Jimmy Horton (Modified) & David Hill (Late Model)

2001: Jimmy Horton (Modified vs. Late Model)

2000: Kenny Brightbill (Modified vs. Late Model)

1999: Gary Stuhler (Modified vs. Late Model)