STSS Race Day at Bloomsburg: ‘Battle at Bloomsburg’ Storylines, Stars & Sleepers

Written by Chris Moore

BLOOMSBURG, PA – Let the battle begin.

Twenty-four hours later than scheduled, it’s Race Day for the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco. The annual combination event takes place at Bloomsburg Fair Raceway in Bloomsburg, Pa.

The famed fairgrounds host the combination event for the first time, as tonight’s main event pays points for both the River Valley Builders North Region and the Hurlock Auto & Speed Supply South Region.

Tonight’s race also features an increased purse, as the winner takes home a $7,000 top prize, and $700 to start. The purse totals more than $32,000 for the STSS big-block/small-block Modifieds.


The ‘Battle at Bloomsburg’ serves as Round No. 4 for both regions as the stars of the STSS continue their pursuit of the $15,000 championships for both the North and South Region.

Wurtsboro, N.Y.’s Danny Creeden leads the North Region fleet to Bloomsburg, while Ringoes, N.J.’s Ryan Godown heads the South Region class into tonight’s 50-lap event.

Savannah, N.Y.’s Matt Sheppard currently sits second in both regions, just two markers behind Creeden and five points off Ryan Godown’s pace.

Last years ‘Battle at Bloomsburg’ was cut short after the 29th lap with rain falling, cutting the race 21 laps short of its scheduled distance. Boyertown, Pa.’s Jeff Strunk claimed the win, his second career STSS triumph.


Matt Sheppard has kicked off his 2022 season in dominant fashion. The 2019 champion of both the North and South Region is in play to accomplish that feat again. Sheppard has already clicked off four STSS wins in the new year, including the most recent two at New Egypt (N.J.) Speedway and Outlaw Speedway in Dundee, N.Y.

Jeff Strunk’s historic win last season made him the first, and still the only, Modified winner at Bloomsburg Fair Raceway. Strunk has made his living excelling at short tracks, including his only other STSS win which came at the old three-eighths-mile inner oval at Bridgeport (N.J.) Motorsports Park.

Ryan Godown is a prior winner of the combination event, claiming the ‘Anthracite Assault’ at Big Diamond Speedway in Pottsville, Pa. back in 2017. Godown will look to get back to STSS Victory Lane, with Sheppard closing in on his South Region point lead.


Neshanic Station, N.J.’s Matt Stangle heads to Bloomsburg coming off his best career STSS finish in the ‘Dirty Jersey’ at New Egypt. Stangle crossed the line second after leading the opening 14 laps. Stangle will look to continue that momentum against one of the best STSS fields of the season.

Belle Mead, N.J.’s Brandon Grosso was disappointed after a 15th-place finish at his home track of New Egypt Speedway. The five-time winner at the D-shaped facility will look to find his footing at a track similar to the one he has dominated on Saturday nights in 2022.

King Ferry, N.Y.’s Mike Mahaney has regained his form from his ‘21 South Region championship in recent weeks. Fresh off a seventh-place run, Mahaney returns to Bloomsburg where he was a podium finisher in the 29-lap affair one year ago.


Round No. 3 of the Precision Hydraulic & Oil North Region for the Crate 602 Sportsman joins the STSS Modifieds. The Sportsman race for 25-laps and a $1,500 winners’ share.

Cream Ridge, N.J.’s Steve Davis currently occupies the point lead, after two top fives to open the North Region chase. Davis sits 44 points ahead of Wallkill, N.Y.’s Travis Green and Fair Haven, Vt.’s Justin Comes rounds out the top three, 50 markers behind Davis.


For the June 8 event, pit gates open at 4 p.m. with grandstand gates opening at 5:40 p.m. Hot laps will begin at 6 p.m. with racing slated for 7 p.m.

Grandstand admission is $28 for Adults and $20 for Seniors and Students. Kids 12 & under are admitted FREE.

Pit admission is $40 (no license required).


The entire night of racing, along with every STSS race in 2022, will be broadcast LIVE on FloRacing (  

Bloomsburg Fair Raceway is located at 620 West Third Street Bloomsburg, PA 17815 and can be reached by phone at 570.784.4949. The speedway website is

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit, e-mail, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, FloSports, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Halmar International, River Valley Builders, Hurlock Auto & Speed, Velocita-USA, St. Lawrence Radiology, Design for Vision & Sunglass Central, Belmont’s Garage, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, Prime MAC Tools, F.X. Caprara Car Companies, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, EIBACH, Elite Welder Testing & Training, Flach Performance Products, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, Penske Racing Shocks, Schultz Racing Fuel Cells, Spyder Filters, Superior Remodeling, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO, Wegner Automotive & Wilwood.


July 14, 2021: JEFF STRUNK – Anthony Perrego – Mike Mahaney – Matt Sheppard – Ryan Krachun


June 16, 2020: BILLY PAUCH JR. – Jimmy Horton – Mike Gular – Tyler Dippel – Richie Pratt Jr.

June 4, 2019: MATT SHEPPARD – Ryan Godown – Mat Williamson – Billy Pauch Jr. – Mike Gular

July 16, 2017: RYAN GODOWN – Billy Pauch Sr. – Craig Von Dohren – Andy Bachetti – Billy Decker

May 17, 2016: RYAN WATT – Stewart Friesen – Erick Rudolph – Duane Howard – Jordan Watson

May 5, 2015: RICK LAUBACH – Stewart Friesen – Jeff Strunk – Anthony Perrego – Jamie Mills