Sun, Fun, Speed: Short Track Super Series ‘Blast at the Beach’ Set for Aug. 30 at Georgetown Speedway

Written by Chris Moore

GEORGETOWN, DE – Sun, fun, speed.

The Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco returns to life on Tuesday, August 30, at Georgetown Speedway.

The ninth annual Melon 1 ‘Blast at the Beach’ takes place as the STSS big-block/small-block Modifieds race for 35-laps around the progressively banked half-mile in pursuit of a $6,000 payday.

The late-summer classic serves as Round No. 6 of the Hurlock Auto & Speed Supply South Region $15,000 championship series.

Fresh off his second South Region victory of the season, Ringoes, N.J.’s Ryan Godown leads the South Region stable heading into the southern Delaware facility.

Godown maintains a 25-point advantage over Savannah, N.Y.’s Matt Sheppard, who won the most recent feature at Georgetown Speedway – a $12,000 triumph in the Gary Simpson Memorial ‘12K for the 12K’ on July 22.

The lead duo has distanced themselves from the rest of the South Region field, as Pipersville, Pa.’s Danny Bouc sits third, 94 markers off the pace set by Godown.

Boyertown, Pa.’s Mike Gular is ranked fourth – six points behind Bouc – and King Ferry, N.Y.’s Mike Mahaney rounds out the top five.

Frenchtown, N.J.’s Billy Pauch Jr. is the defending winner of the race, having won two of the last three ‘Blast at the Beach’ events. Only Sprakers, N.Y.’s Stewart Friesen has stood in the way of the ‘Kid’s Kid’ and three consecutive ‘Blast at the Beach’ titles.

Friesen passed Pauch Jr. on the final lap of the 2020 affair, to claim his second ‘Blast at the Beach’ victory. Friesen and Pauch Jr. are the only multi-time ‘Blast at the Beach’ winners.

Other event winners include Middletown, N.Y.’s Anthony Perrego (2018); Oley, Pa.’s Duane Howard (2017); Milford, Del.’s Jordan Watson (2015); and Wallkill, N.Y.’s Tyler Dippel won a non-sanctioned event in2014.

The STSS Crate 602 Sportsman join the program, taking part in Round No. 4 of the Belmont’s Garage South Region.

Newtown, Pa.’s Joe Toth extended his lead to a 61-point advantage over Edgewater Park, N.J.’s Nick Van Wickle. Toth just claimed his second career STSS victory at Bridgeport (N.J.) Motorsports Park.

Fleetwood, Pa.’s Dylan Swinehart rounds out the top three, 65 markers behind Toth and just four behind Van Wickle for the runner-up spot.

The entire night of racing, along with every STSS race in 2022, will be broadcast LIVE on FloRacing (

Georgetown Speedway, originally constructed by Melvin L. Joseph in 1949, is located at the intersection of Route 113 and Speedway Road in Georgetown, Del., just miles from the Delaware beaches and less than a 40-minute drive from Ocean City, Md.

A website is live for the speedway at Like Georgetown Speedway on Facebook, follow @thegtownspdwy on Twitter, e-mail or contact the speedway hotline at 302.563.GTWN (4896).

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit, e-mail, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, FloSports, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Halmar International, River Valley Builders, Hurlock Auto & Speed, Velocita-USA, St. Lawrence Radiology, Design for Vision & Sunglass Central, Belmont’s Garage, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, Prime MAC Tools, F.X. Caprara Car Companies, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, EIBACH, Elite Welder Testing & Training, Flach Performance Products, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, Penske Racing Shocks, Schultz Racing Fuel Cells, Spyder Filters, Superior Remodeling, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO, Wegner Automotive & Wilwood


August 24, 2021 – BILLY PAUCH JR. – Tyler Dippel – Stewart Friesen – Ryan Godown – Anthony Perrego

August 25, 2020 – STEWART FRIESEN – Billy Pauch Jr. – Anthony Perrego – Matt Sheppard – Jeff Strunk

August 27, 2019 – BILLY PAUCH JR. – Matt Sheppard – Andy Bachetti – Billy Pauch Sr. – David Van Horn

August 28, 2018 – ANTHONY PERREGO – Craig Von Dohren – Duane Howard – David Van Horn – Ryan Watt

August 30, 2017 – DUANE HOWARD – Ryan Watt – David Van Horn – Jamie Mills – Ryan Godown

August 30, 2016 – STEWART FRIESEN – Ryan Watt – Jimmy Horton – Duane Howard – Craig Von Dohren

September 1, 2015 – JORDAN WATSON – Howard O’Neal – Jimmy Horton – Ryan Watt – Andy Bachetti

August 26, 2014 (non-sanctioned)TYLER DIPPEL – Jamie Mills – Duane Howard – Rick Laubach – Ryan Godown