STSS Race Day at Georgetown: Blast at the Beach Storylines, Stars & Sleepers

Written by Chris Moore

GEORGETOWN, DE – It’s Race Day at the Beach!

For the first time in more than one month, the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco goes green.

Tonight, the stars of the STSS take on a familiar venue in Georgetown Speedway for the first time in the 2022 season.

The season opening ‘Melvin L. Joseph Memorial’ was postponed to October due to inclement weather, making today’s ‘Blast at the Beach’ the first STSS visit of the season to the progressively banked half-mile.

Melon 1 & Sussex Diesel present tonight’s racing card, as the STSS big-block/small-block Modifieds prepare for 35-laps around the Sussex County half-mile in pursuit of a $6,000 payday.


Ringoes, N.J.’s Ryan Godown strengthened his banner season with his second STSS victory of the year at Bridgeport (N.J.) Motorsports Park back on July 26.

Godown maintains a 25-point advantage over Savannah, N.Y.’s Matt Sheppard heading into Round No. 6 of the Hurlock Auto & Speed Supply South Region $15,000 championship chase.

Georgetown Speedway will host the STSS for the 18th time in series history, by far the most of any racetrack since the series’ inception in 2014.

The STSS has a quick turnaround after tonight, with Round No. 3 of the Halmar International ‘Elite’ Series taking place just five days from now at Utica-Rome (N.Y.) Speedway for the ‘New Yorker 50.’


Milford, Del.’s Jordan Watson has been the man to beat at Georgetown Speedway in 2022, claiming victory in two of the three features thus far this season. Watson was the runner-up in his only non-victory. The Southern Delaware star will look for STSS career win No. 3 at the site of his two previous STSS triumphs, including the 2015 ‘Blast at the Beach.’

The only driver to top Jordan Watson this season at Georgetown Speedway was Matt Sheppard back on July 22 for the Gary Simpson Memorial ‘12K for the 12K.’ Sheppard has been a threat at every race he has entered in the 2022 season, including a series leading six STSS wins.

Frenchtown, N.J.’s Billy Pauch Jr. is one lap away from being a three-time defending ‘Blast at the Beach’ winner. The 2019 & 2021 winner of the event is in search of his third victory in the late summer classic in the last four years.


Covington Township, Pa.’s Alex Yankowski returns to Georgetown Speedway fresh off a podium run in the ‘Gary Simpson Memorial.’ ‘Kid Rocket’ was recently crowned the ‘Thunder on the Thruway’ champion at New York’s Fonda and Utica-Rome Speedway’s.

Branchburg, N.J.’s Ryan Krachun heads into Georgetown Speedway off his best career STSS finish. Krachun was the runner-up to Godown at Bridgeport, nearly stealing away the $5,000 victory in the late stages. Krachun will look to snap his bad luck streak at Georgetown with another strong STSS outing.

Ryan Watt is fresh off his best STSS finish of the season, taking home a fourth-place finish at Bridgeport after starting 18th. The Boyertown, Pa. native returns to the site of his 2017 ‘Melvin L. Joseph Memorial’ triumph looking to continue his momentum on the South Region tour.


The STSS Crate 602 Sportsman join the late summer affair, for a 25-lap trip around the half-mile with $1,500 up for grabs for the winner.

Newtown, Pa.’s Joe Toth continues to lead the Belmont’s Garage South Region by 61 markers over Edgewater Park, N.J.’s Nick Van Wickle. Fleetwood, Pa.’s Dylan Swinehart rounds out the top three, just four points behind Van Wickle for second.

While the lead duo is separated by 61 markers, the drivers second thru 12th in the STSS Crate 602 Sportsman standings are separated by 60-points. Round No. 4 of the Belmont’s Garage South Region will be a pivotal race for positioning amongst the top ten in standings.

The Delmarva Chargers and Delaware Super Trucks join the program as well in 12-lap, features only events.


For the August 30 event, pit gates open at 4 p.m. with grandstand gates following at 5 p.m. Hot laps are slated to begin at 6:20 p.m. with racing set for 7:15 p.m.

Grandstand admission is $25 for Adults and $20 for Seniors (ages 65 & up) and Students (ages 13-17). Kids (ages 9-12) admission is $10 and Children 8 & under get in FREE.

Pit admission is $35 (ages 13 & up). Kids (ages 6-12) pit admission is $10 and $2 for Children ages 5 & under.


The entire night of racing, along with every STSS race in 2022, will be broadcast LIVE on FloRacing (

Georgetown Speedway, originally constructed by Melvin L. Joseph in 1949, is located at the intersection of Route 113 and Speedway Road in Georgetown, Del., just miles from the Delaware beaches and less than a 40-minute drive from Ocean City, Md.

A website is live for the speedway at Like Georgetown Speedway on Facebook, follow @thegtownspdwy on Twitter, e-mail or contact the speedway hotline at 302.563.GTWN (4896).

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit, e-mail,  check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, FloSports, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, BDR Speed, Halmar International, Ollie’s, River Valley Builders, Hurlock Auto & Speed, Velocita-USA, St. Lawrence Radiology, Franklin Products, Design for Vision & Sunglass Central, Belmont’s Garage, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, Prime MAC Tools, F.X. Caprara Car Companies, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, EIBACH, Elite Welder Testing & Training, Flach Performance Products, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, Penske Racing Shocks, Schultz Racing Fuel Cells, Spyder Filters, Superior Remodeling, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO, Wegner Automotive & Wilwood.


August 24, 2021 – BILLY PAUCH JR. – Tyler Dippel – Stewart Friesen – Ryan Godown – Anthony Perrego

August 25, 2020 – STEWART FRIESEN – Billy Pauch Jr. – Anthony Perrego – Matt Sheppard – Jeff Strunk

August 27, 2019 – BILLY PAUCH JR. – Matt Sheppard – Andy Bachetti – Billy Pauch Sr. – David Van Horn

August 28, 2018 – ANTHONY PERREGO – Craig Von Dohren – Duane Howard – David Van Horn – Ryan Watt

August 30, 2017 – DUANE HOWARD – Ryan Watt – David Van Horn – Jamie Mills – Ryan Godown

August 30, 2016 – STEWART FRIESEN – Ryan Watt – Jimmy Horton – Duane Howard – Craig Von Dohren

September 1, 2015 – JORDAN WATSON – Howard O’Neal – Jimmy Horton – Ryan Watt – Andy Bachetti

August 26, 2014 (Not STSS Sanctioned) – TYLER DIPPEL – Jamie Mills – Duane Howard – Rick Laubach – Ryan Godown