Turning 10: Short Track Super Series to Celebrate 10th Anniversary in 2023

Written by Andrew Reigel

MILLSBORO, DE – Turning 10.

The Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco Modified program celebrates its 10th anniversary season in 2023. It all begins with a trip south to Lake View Motor Speedway in Nichols, S.C., Feb. 2-4, 2023, and All-Tech Raceway in Lake City, Fla., Feb. 7-11, 2023.

Since its inception in 2014, the STSS has contested 154 Modified events at 30 facilities across 11 different states.

The first STSS event took place April 6, 2014, at Orange County Fair Speedway in Middletown, N.Y. On that historic Sunday afternoon, Andy Bachetti of Sheffield, Mass., picked up his first of seven series victories.

After 153 more events, 37 different drivers have captured at least one STSS victory.

No driver has visited Victory Lane more than Sprakers, N.Y.’s Stewart Friesen with 36 career STSS victories.

The series has competed at Del.’s Georgetown Speedway more than any other venue with 19 events contested at the Sussex County oval.

Running as a single series in ’14, the Short Track Super Series evolved into its North and South regional format one year later. Last season, a six-race ‘Elite’ program joined the North and South regions offering mega money to Modified competitors.

A Louisiana- and Texas-based ‘Cajun Region’ of the series was formed in 2021 and just completed its second season under the STSS banner. Caleb Dillard of Many, La., has put his name in the history books as a two-time champion.

The STSS Sportsman program got underway in 2016 as an open engine program. The open program continued through ’18, while a Crate 602 Sportsman series – split into North and South Regions – got its start the same season and remains in place today.

Andy Bachetti won the inaugural STSS Modified championship in 2014 winning the only single series championship to date. 

In the 2015 season the STSS River Valley Builders North Region and Hurlock Auto & Speed Supply South Regions were born. Stewart Friesen was victorious in the North Region and Ryan Watt triumphed in the South Region. 

Matt Sheppard, who picked up the inaugural STSS Halmar International ‘Elite’ Series Championship in 2022, holds the most North Region titles with three.

Ryan Watt’s three titles in 2015, 2017, and 2018 are a South Region best.

Complete details of the ’23 series schedule are being finalized and will be released by mid-December.

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit www.shorttracksuperseries.com, e-mail bdmotorsportsmedia@gmail.com, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, FloSports, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, BDR Speed, Halmar International, Ollie’s, River Valley Builders, Hurlock Auto & Speed, Velocita-USA, St. Lawrence Radiology, Franklin Products, Design for Vision & Sunglass Central, Belmont’s Garage, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, Prime MAC Tools, F.X. Caprara Car Companies, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, EIBACH, Elite Welder Testing & Training, Flach Performance Products, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, Penske Racing Shocks, Schultz Racing Fuel Cells, Spyder Filters, Superior Remodeling, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO, Wegner Automotive & Wilwood.

Short Track Super Series Event History (2014-2022)

Short Track Super Series Modified Event Wins:

36 – Stewart Friesen

31 – Matt Sheppard 

13 – Ryan Godown

10 – Anthony Perrego

7 – Andy Bachetti 

6 – Billy Pauch Jr. & Ryan Watt

5 – Danny Creeden 

4 – Erick Rudolph & Mat Williamson

2 – David Van Horn Jr., Jeff Strunk, Jordan Watson, Mike Gular, Rick Laubach

1 – Billy Decker, Billy Van Pelt, Brian Malcolm, Chad Cook, Danny Johnson, Demetrios Drellos, Duane Howard, Jackie Brown Jr., Jeremy Smith, Jerry Higbie, Jimmy Horton, Larry Wight, Marc Johnson, Max McLaughlin, Mike Mahaney, Mike Maresca, Richie Pratt Jr., Rusty Smith, Shaun Walker, Steve Paine, Tommy Meier, Wade Hendrickson

Short Track Super Series Modified Champions:

2014: Andy Bachetti (One Series)

2015: Stewart Friesen (North), Ryan Watt (South)

2016: Andy Bachetti (North), Stewart Friesen (South)

2017: Andy Bachetti (North), Ryan Watt (South)

2018: Billy Decker (North), Ryan Watt (South)

2019: Matt Sheppard (North & South)

2020: Stewart Friesen (North & South)

2021: Matt Sheppard (North), Mike Mahaney (South), Caleb Dillard (Cajun)

2022: Matt Sheppard (Elite, North, & South), Caleb Dillard (Cajun)

Short Track Super Series Modified Events By Track

19 – Georgetown Speedway

12 – Afton Motorsports Park & Orange County Fair Speedway

10 – Thunder Mountain Speedway

9 – Port Royal Speedway

8 – Accord Speedway & Delaware International Speedway

7 – Bridgeport Speedway

6 – All-Tech Raceway & Fonda Speedway

5 – BAPS Motor Speedway, Big Diamond Speedway, New Egypt Speedway, Outlaw Speedway & Woodhull Raceway

4 – Ark-La-Tex Speedway

3 – Bubba Raceway Park, Penn Can Speedway, Super Bee Speedway & Utica-Rome Speedway

2 – Albany-Saratoga Speedway, Bloomsburg Fair Raceway, Boothill Speedway, Cherokee Speedway, Rocket Raceway Park & Tri-County Racetrack

1 – Devil’s Bowl Speedway, Potomac Speedway, Revolution Park Speedway & Selinsgrove Speedway