$10,000 to win, Behrent’s Bonus Bucks Up for Grabs Oct. 20 at Orange County Fair Speedway

Written by Chris Moore

MIDDLETOWN, NY – The finale.

The Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco heads to Orange County Fair Speedway in Middletown, N.Y., on Friday, Oct. 20 for the River Valley Builders North Region finale.

The event is presented by Know How Auto Supply with NAPA locations in Monroe, Goshen, Montgomery, West Haverstraw and Washingtonville.

The Legendary ‘House of Power’ bookends the River Valley Builders North Region, having hosted the ‘Hard Clay Open’ back in April, won by Matt Sheppard.

The STSS Modifieds go for 50-laps around the five-eighths-mile oval for a $10,000 top prize in the ‘Hard Clay Finale.’

BDRSpeed.com, offering “Speed at Your Fingertips” boosted the winner’s share from $7,500 to the $10,000 top prize.

In addition to 10k for 50 laps of racing, the ‘Behrent’s Boost’ – presented by Behrent’s Performance Warehouse – will be rolled over from the ‘Speed Showcase’ at Port Royal Speedway in Pennsylvania, to the ‘Hard Clay Finale.’

$5,000 in additional purse money has been added by Behrent’s.

Every driver finishing inside the top 10 receives an extra $500 courtesy of Behrent’s Performance Warehouse (with company decal displayed).

Additionally, all top-10 finishers will be entered into a drawing for three gift certificates to Behrent’s Performance Warehouse. The gift certificates are valued at $750, $500, and $250, respectively, to each of the three drivers drawn for a total of $1,500.

Drivers finishing in the top-10 after 50 laps receive an additional $6,500 in bonus cash and certificates courtesy of Behrent’s Performance Warehouse.

Behrent’s Performance Warehouse was founded by Harry Behrent in 1972 as Behrent’s Speed Center Inc., a general speed and tire shop aimed at the general automotive market. In 1982, a decision was made to focus on the parts and service market and leave behind Harry’s career as a driver. The speed center has grown to be a nationally known leader in the automotive racing industry.

Behrent’s Performance Warehouse is located at 38 Meadow Road Florida, NY 10921 and can be found on the web at www.behrents.com. By phone, call 845.651.7389.

Matt Sheppard once again leads the North Region standings by a healthy 131 markers over St. Catherines, Ontario’s Mat Williamson.

If Sheppard attempts to qualify for the ‘Hard Clay Finale,’ the Savannah, N.Y., resident will win his third consecutive North Region title.

Guilderland, N.Y.’s Marc Johnson sits third in the North Region standings on his maiden voyage with the STSS, 308 points behind Sheppard.

Bohemia, N.Y.’s Dillon Steuer (331 points behind) and St. Hyacinthe, Quebec’s Steve Bernier (348 points behind) round out the top five in North Region Standings heading into the North Region finale.

OCFS will play host to the STSS for the 14th time in series history, second most all-time, to only Del.’s Georgetown Speedway.

The annual STSS ‘Hard Clay Finale’ serves as the prequel to one of Modified racing’s biggest and most prestigious events, the Eastern States Weekend, which continues through Saturday and Sunday at the historic speedway.

For the October 20 event, Pit gates open at 8:30 a.m. for STSS and OCFS Sportsman only. Grandstand gates open at 1 p.m. Hot laps begin at 6:15 p.m. with racing to follow.

General Admission is $30 for Adults and Seniors and Children 12 and under are admitted for $10. Reserved seating is available for $35. Call 845.342.2573 to reserve.

Party Deck seats (tables of four) are $300. Call 845.342.2573 to reserve.

Drive-in admission is $110 (three-day passes only).

Pit admission is $50.

A complete info sheet has been posted on the STSS website: https://shorttracksuperseries.com/event-info/

The entire night of racing, along with every STSS race in 2023, will be broadcast LIVE on FloRacing (www.floracing.tv).

Orange County Fair Speedway is located at 239 Wisner Avenue in Middletown, NY 10940. To contact Orange County Fair Speedway, e-mail info@ocfsracing.com or call the speedway office at 845.342.2573. The speedway website is www.orangecountyfairspeedway.net.

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit www.shorttracksuperseries.com, e-mail bdmotorsportsmedia@gmail.com, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, FloSports, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Rent Equip/Party Central, BDR Speed, Bicknell Racing Products, Ollie’s, Penske Racing Shocks, Wegner Automotive, River Valley Builders, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, DIG Race Products, Velocita-USA, Franklin Products, Design for Vision & Sunglass Central, Belmont’s Garage, Quality Drywall, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, Prime MAC Tools, F.X. Caprara Car Companies, Algonkin Motel, Beyea Custom Headers, Dirt Track Digest, EIBACH, Electric Neon Custom Signs, Fastline Performance, Flach Performance Products, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, Schultz Racing Fuel Cells, Spyder Filters, Superior Remodeling, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO & Wilwood.


April 8, 2023 – MATT SHEPPARD – Larry Wight – Mat Williamson – Dillon Steuer – Jack Lehner

October 21, 2022 – ANTHONY PERREGO – Matt Sheppard – Marc Johnson – Mat Williamson – Mike Mahaney

April 2, 2022 – MATT SHEPPARD – Max McLaughlin – Mat Williamson – Danny Creeden – Ryan Godown

October 22, 2021 – MATT SHEPPARD – Anthony Perrego – Mat Williamson – David Schilling – Larry Wight

October 24, 2019 – STEWART FRIESEN – Anthony Perrego – Andy Bachetti – Matt Sheppard – Billy Decker

April 7, 2019 – MATT SHEPPARD – Stewart Friesen – Anthony Perrego – Brett Hearn – Mike Gular

October 18, 2018 – MIKE GULAR – Mat Williamson – Anthony Perrego – Tyler Dippel – Mike Mahaney

May 8, 2018 – STEWART FRIESEN – Rick Laubach – Jerry Higbie – Brett Hearn – Billy Decker

October 19, 2017 – STEWART FRIESEN – Andy Bachetti – Rick Laubach – Craig Mitchell – Jeremy Smith

April 9, 2017 – ANDY BACHETTI – Stewart Friesen – Brett Hearn – Billy Decker – Tommy Meier

April 2, 2016 – TOMMY MEIER – Danny Johnson – Mike Ricci – Andy Bachetti – L.J. Lombardo

April 11, 2015 – STEWART FRIESEN – Jerry Higbie Jr. – Danny Johnson – Tommy Meier – Brett Hearn

April 6, 2014 – ANDY BACHETTI – Tim Hindley – Danny Tyler – Danny Johnson – Jeff Heotzler