One Last Event: ‘Hard Clay Finale’ Concludes 10th Anniversary STSS Season

MIDDLETOWN, NY – One last event.

A rain-marred Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco 10th anniversary season concludes with the postponed ‘Hard Clay Finale’ at Orange County Fair Speedway in Middletown, N.Y. The event is scheduled for Friday, November 10 with a rain/weather date of Sunday, November 12.

STSS and Orange County management will analyze weather forecasts early in the week and announce a decision.

The ‘Hard Clay Finale’ concludes the 2023 STSS River Valley Builders North Region $15,000 championship battle.

The 50-lap event offers a potential $10,500 to the winner courtesy of Behrent’s Performance Warehouse and and championship points toward the STSS North Region title fight.

The first 10 drivers across the line sporting Behrent’s Performance Warehouse decals will receive $500 each, a total commitment of $5,000 from Harry and Jeff Behrent. $500 is reserved to take the green flag.

Crate 602 Sportsman – utilizing OCFS rules – will accompany the STSS Modifieds in the open-wheel doubleheader at the legendary fairgrounds. Crate 602 Sportsman will compete for a $1,000 top prize under a non-points-paying, draw/redraw format.

The ‘Hard Clay Finale’ will mark the 14th visit to OCFS by the series, which hosted its first-ever race at the Middletown facility on April 6, 2014.

If the event is completed on Friday, pit gates open at 4 p.m., grandstand gates at 5 p.m., hot laps at 6:15 p.m. and racing at 7 p.m.

If the event is completed on Sunday, all gates open at 11 a.m., with hot laps at 1:30 p.m. and racing at 2:30 p.m.

Grandstand and drive-in admission is $35 for Adults. Senior/Military pay $30. Kids 12 and under are admitted FREE.

Party Deck tickets are $45 each or $180 per table of four. VIP Booth seating can be purchased at $70 per ticket. To reserve a Party Deck ticket/table or VIP booth ticket, call the speedway office 845.342.2573.

Pit admission is $45.

The ‘Hard Clay Finale’ will be broadcast LIVE on FloRacing (

Orange County Fair Speedway is located at 239 Wisner Avenue in Middletown, NY 10940. To contact Orange County Fair Speedway, e-mail or call the speedway office at 845.342.2573. The speedway website is

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit, e-mail, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, FloSports, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Rent Equip/Party Central, BDR Speed, Bicknell Racing Products, Ollie’s, Penske Racing Shocks, Wegner Automotive, River Valley Builders, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, DIG Race Products, Velocita-USA, Franklin Products, Design for Vision & Sunglass Central, Belmont’s Garage, Quality Drywall, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, Prime MAC Tools, F.X. Caprara Car Companies, Algonkin Motel, Beyea Custom Headers, Dirt Track Digest, EIBACH, Electric Neon Custom Signs, Fastline Performance, Flach Performance Products, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, Schultz Racing Fuel Cells, Spyder Filters, Superior Remodeling, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO & Wilwood.


April 8, 2023 – MATT SHEPPARD – Larry Wight – Mat Williamson – Dillon Steuer – Jack Lehner

October 21, 2022 – ANTHONY PERREGO – Matt Sheppard – Marc Johnson – Mat Williamson – Mike Mahaney

April 2, 2022 – MATT SHEPPARD – Max McLaughlin – Mat Williamson – Danny Creeden – Ryan Godown

October 22, 2021 – MATT SHEPPARD – Anthony Perrego – Mat Williamson – David Schilling – Larry Wight

October 24, 2019 – STEWART FRIESEN – Anthony Perrego – Andy Bachetti – Matt Sheppard – Billy Decker

April 7, 2019 – MATT SHEPPARD – Stewart Friesen – Anthony Perrego – Brett Hearn – Mike Gular

October 18, 2018 – MIKE GULAR – Mat Williamson – Anthony Perrego – Tyler Dippel – Mike Mahaney

May 8, 2018 – STEWART FRIESEN – Rick Laubach – Jerry Higbie – Brett Hearn – Billy Decker

October 19, 2017 – STEWART FRIESEN – Andy Bachetti – Rick Laubach – Craig Mitchell – Jeremy Smith

April 9, 2017 – ANDY BACHETTI – Stewart Friesen – Brett Hearn – Billy Decker – Tommy Meier

April 2, 2016 – TOMMY MEIER – Danny Johnson – Mike Ricci – Andy Bachetti – L.J. Lombardo

April 11, 2015 – STEWART FRIESEN – Jerry Higbie Jr. – Danny Johnson – Tommy Meier – Brett Hearn

April 6, 2014 – ANDY BACHETTI – Tim Hindley – Danny Tyler – Danny Johnson – Jeff Heotzler