STSS Race Day at OCFS: Hard Clay Finale Storylines, Stars & Sleepers

Written by Chris Moore

MIDDLETOWN, NY – One last time.

The Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco goes green for a rare November New York State program this afternoon (Nov. 12).

The historic Orange County Fair Speedway in Middletown, N.Y., plays host to the 11th and final round of the River Valley Builders North Region.

The 50-lap main event for the STSS big-block/small-block Modifieds pays more than $10,000 to the winner of the ‘Hard Clay Finale.’


After a postponement of the originally scheduled ‘Hard Clay Finale’ during Eastern States Weekend at OCFS, the STSS tries to close the curtain with a late-season afternoon program.

The race also serves as the final race of the season at the legendary fairgrounds facility. With the future of auto racing at the five-eighths-mile in doubt, the 2023 ‘Hard Clay Finale’ is a must-see event.

The ‘Hard Clay Finale’ concludes the River Valley Builders North Region $15,000 title chase with Savannah, N.Y.’s Matt Sheppard at the head of the class.

Sheppard holds a 115-point advantage over St. Catherines, Ontario, Canada’s Mat Williamson. If Sheppard qualifies for the 50-lap main event, he secures the 2023 championship.


Sheppard heads into the STSS finale in search of his eighth STSS triumph of the season to close out the ’23 season with an exclamation point. ‘Super Matt’ was crowned the Rent Equip/Party Central South Region Champion at Del.’s Georgetown Speedway in late October.

Mat Williamson, meanwhile, heads into the final event of the season with momentum on his side. Williamson has fared well in the fall months of the season, which included a $30,000 victory in the Eastern States 200 at OCFS.

Montgomery, N.Y.’s Anthony Perrego is the defending winner of the ‘Hard Clay Finale,’ after upsetting Matt Sheppard in last year’s edition. Perrego is the big-block champion at OCFS in ‘23.


Bohemia, N.Y.’s Dillon Steuer is the ‘23 small-block champion at OCFS and was the runner-up in big-block points. Steuer looks to claim his first career STSS victory and move back into third in North Region standings.

Covington Township, Pa.’s Alex Yankowski enters the OCFS race fresh of his first win in 2023. ‘Kid Rocket’ finally shook the bad luck at Georgetown (Del.) Speedway, claiming a $12,000 prize in the Gary Simpson Memorial at the Southern Delaware facility.

Wurtsboro, N.Y.’s Danny Creeden has run well on several occasions with the STSS at the Orange County Fair Speedway and boasts five series wins to his credit. Creeden will look to win his first series race since 2018 at his home track.


Crate 602 Sportsman, under OCFS rules, will join the STSS Modified finale.


Don’t forget to set your Dirt Draft lineups before the night’s first heat race begins.

Visit or download the app to join Dirt Draft and compete against thousands of others for the entire 2023 STSS season. A subscription is just $5.99 a month with plenty of prizes up for grabs in the Dirt Draft Speed Shop.

Following along with the STSS on Dirt Draft throughout the ‘23 season will pay one lucky fan dividends at year-end.

The STSS Dirt Draft Champion receives two tickets to the STSS year-end banquet and will be honored with a custom trophy presented by Dirt Draft.


Grandstand and drive-in admission is $35 for Adults. Senior/Military pay $30. Kids 12 and under are admitted FREE.

Party Deck tickets are $45 each or $180 per table of four. VIP Booth seating can be purchased at $70 per ticket. To reserve a Party Deck ticket/table or VIP booth ticket, call the speedway office 845.342.2573.

Pit admission is $45.


The ‘Hard Clay Finale’ will be broadcast LIVE on FloRacing (

Orange County Fair Speedway is located at 239 Wisner Avenue in Middletown, NY 10940. To contact Orange County Fair Speedway, e-mail or call the speedway office at 845.342.2573. The speedway website is

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit, e-mail, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, FloSports, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Rent Equip/Party Central, BDR Speed, Bicknell Racing Products, Ollie’s, Penske Racing Shocks, Wegner Automotive, River Valley Builders, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, DIG Race Products, Velocita-USA, Franklin Products, Design for Vision & Sunglass Central, Belmont’s Garage, Quality Drywall, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, Prime MAC Tools, F.X. Caprara Car Companies, Algonkin Motel, Beyea Custom Headers, Dirt Track Digest, EIBACH, Electric Neon Custom Signs, Fastline Performance, Flach Performance Products, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, Schultz Racing Fuel Cells, Spyder Filters, Superior Remodeling, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO & Wilwood.


April 8, 2023 – MATT SHEPPARD – Larry Wight – Mat Williamson – Dillon Steuer – Jack Lehner

October 21, 2022 – ANTHONY PERREGO – Matt Sheppard – Marc Johnson – Mat Williamson – Mike Mahaney

April 2, 2022 – MATT SHEPPARD – Max McLaughlin – Mat Williamson – Danny Creeden – Ryan Godown

October 22, 2021 – MATT SHEPPARD – Anthony Perrego – Mat Williamson – David Schilling – Larry Wight

October 24, 2019 – STEWART FRIESEN – Anthony Perrego – Andy Bachetti – Matt Sheppard – Billy Decker

April 7, 2019 – MATT SHEPPARD – Stewart Friesen – Anthony Perrego – Brett Hearn – Mike Gular

October 18, 2018 – MIKE GULAR – Mat Williamson – Anthony Perrego – Tyler Dippel – Mike Mahaney

May 8, 2018 – STEWART FRIESEN – Rick Laubach – Jerry Higbie – Brett Hearn – Billy Decker

October 19, 2017 – STEWART FRIESEN – Andy Bachetti – Rick Laubach – Craig Mitchell – Jeremy Smith

April 9, 2017 – ANDY BACHETTI – Stewart Friesen – Brett Hearn – Billy Decker – Tommy Meier

April 2, 2016 – TOMMY MEIER – Danny Johnson – Mike Ricci – Andy Bachetti – L.J. Lombardo

April 11, 2015 – STEWART FRIESEN – Jerry Higbie Jr. – Danny Johnson – Tommy Meier – Brett Hearn

April 6, 2014 – ANDY BACHETTI – Tim Hindley – Danny Tyler – Danny Johnson – Jeff Heotzler